are chosen by the Prime Minister; each of them generally assumes charge of one of the various departments of the government, although one Minister may hold two portfolios at the same time, while other members may be without portfolio. The twelfth Ministry consisted on Sept. 30, 1925, of 21 members; 4 of them were without portfolio, while 3 others, including the Prime Minister, were in charge of two or more departments.

The Prime Ministers since Confederation and their dates of office, together with the members of the twelfth Ministry, as on Sept. 30, 1925, are given in Table 2.

## 2.—Ministries since Confederation.

Nore.-A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appeared in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appeared in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-653.

- 1. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From July 1, 1867 to Nov. 6, 1873. 2. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Premier. From Nov. 7, 1873 to Oct. 16, 1878. 3. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From Oct. 17, 1878 to June 6, 1891.
- Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott, Premier. From June 16, 1891 to Dec. 5, 1892.
  Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson, Premier. From Dec. 5, 1892 to Dec. 12, 1894.
  Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Premier. From Dec. 21, 1894 to April 27, 1896.
  Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Premier. From May 1, 1896 to July 8, 1896.
  Rt. Hon. Sir Bobert J. Borden Premier. Conservative Administration)

- 9. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Conservative Administration). From Oct. 10, 1911 to Oct. 12, 1917. 10. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Unionist Administration). From Oct. 12, 1917 to July 10, 1920.
- 11. Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Premier. (Unionist-"National Liberal and Conservative Party.") From July 10, 1920 to Dec. 29, 1921.
- 12. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Dec. 29, 1921.

## TWELFTH DOMINION MINISTRY.

(According to precedence of the Ministers as at the formation of the Cabinet).

Nore.—Resignations of Ministers have been noted only in cases in which the office vacated has not been filled by subsequent appointment. Official dates of resignations are not available. The personnel of the Ministry, as at the latest date available, will be found in the appendix to this volume, immediately preceding the index.

| Office.  | Occupant.                          | Date of<br>Appointment. |
|--|------------------------------------|-------------------------|
| Prime Minister, Secretary of State for External  | Bight Hon, William Lyon Mackenzie  | 1                       |
| Affairs, President of the Privy Council.   | King                               | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister of Finance  |                                    | Dec 20 1021             |
|  | Hon. James A. Robb                 | Sent 5 1025             |
| Minister of National Defence   | Bight Hop Gaorga P Graham          | Dec 90 1091             |
|  | Hon. Edward Macdonald <sup>2</sup> | Annil 99 1092           |
|  | Hon Edward Macdonald               | Aug 17 1092             |
| Postmaster-General   | Hon. Edward Macuollald             | Aug. 17, 1940           |
| rostmaster-General   | Hon. Raoul Dandurand               | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister without Portfolio.  | Hon. Raout Dandurand               | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister of Soldiers' Civil Re-Establishment and the   |                                    |                         |
| Minister in charge of and to administer the De-  |                                    | D 00 1001               |
| partment of Health   | Hon. Henri S. Béland               | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister of Public Works   | Hon. Hewitt Bostock                | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister of Justice and Attorney-General   | Hon. James H. King                 | Feb. 3, 1922            |
| Minister of Justice and Attorney-General   | Hon. Sir Lomer Gouin               | Dec. 29, 1921           |
|  | Hon. Ernest Lapointe               | Jan. 30, 1924           |
| Minister of Customs and Excise   | Hon. Jacques Bureau                | Dec. 29, 1921           |
|  | Hon. George H. Boivin              | Sept. 5, 1925           |
| Minister of Marine and Fisheries   | Hon. Ernest Lapointe               | Dec. 29, 1921           |
|  | Hon. P. J. A. Cardin               | Jan. 30. 1924           |
| Solicitor-General.   | Hon. Daniel D. McKenzie            | Dec. 29, 1921           |
|  | Hon, E. J. McMurrav <sup>a</sup>   | Sept. 12, 1923          |
| Minister of Immigration and Colonization   | Hon James A Robh                   | Ang 17 1023             |
| · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·  | Hon. George N. Gordon              | Sept. 5, 1925           |
| Minister of Trade and Commerce   | Hon, James A. Robb                 | Dec. 29, 1921           |
|  | Hon, Thomas A. Low                 | lAng 17. 1923           |
| Minister without Portfolio   | Hon Thomas A Low                   | Dec 20 1021             |
| Secretary of State   | Hon Arthur B Conn                  | Dec 20 1021             |
|  | Hon. Walter E. Foster              | Sept 12 1025            |
| Minister of Railways and Canals  | Hon William C Kanady               | Dec 90 1091             |
|  | Right Hon. George P. Graham        | April 29, 1821          |
| Minister of the Interior, Superintendent-General of  | Tright Hon. George L. Granam       | April 20, 1823          |
| Indian Affairs and Minister of Mines   | Hon. Charles Stewart               | Tag 90 1091             |
| Minister of Agriculture  | Hon William D. Mathamall           | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister of Labour   | Hon. Jomos Mundash                 | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister of Labour.  | Hon. John E. Singlatin             | Dec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister without Portfolio<br>Minister without Portfolio   | Hon. John E. Sinclair              | Lec. 29, 1921           |
| Minister without Portiolio   | ICOL. II. B. MCGIVETINS            | Sept. 30, 1924          |
| Minister without Portfolio   | non. nerbert H. Marler             | Sept. 5, 1925           |
| Minister without Portfolio   | Hon. Charles Vincent Massey        | Sept. 12, 1925          |
| <sup>1</sup> Hon. Lucien Cannon was appointed Solicitor-General on Sept. 5, 1925, but is not a member of the Cabinet. <sup>3</sup> Acting Minister. <sup>3</sup> Resigned. |                                    |                         |
| 5854-51  |                                    |                         |
| 0003-01  |                                    |                         |